The purpose of MWACD is to foster closer interactions among core facilities and to sponsor conferences of research core facility directors. We became the first official Chapter of the Association of Biomolecular Resource Facilities (ABRF), and we cooperate with ABRF in our activities. Membership in the ABRF is encouraged, however it is NOT a requirement for attending MWACD meetings. Please visit the ABRF web site to see the many benefits including numerous technology study groups, discussion forums, and an exciting annual meeting.

We are now planning our 7th core directors conference. The goal of the conference is to provide an opportunity for networking among life science core directors and managers, for core directors to interact with colleagues, share technical advice, and discuss the continuing challenges associated with the operation of shared research resources and technologies. The organization and meetings are not intended to be exclusively confined to the Midwest region: all core directors, core staff, and core organization managers are encouraged to attend the meeting.

Advantages of a regional organization:
  1. A smaller meeting provides a more intimate environment for greater interaction among participants. Sessions are geared more towards interactive discussions rather than lectures.
  2. We have distinct characteristics: we are more spread out than our colleagues on the East coast creating more isolation; we have somewhat different institutions, etc. Meetings enhance networking.
  3. By acting as a block, we might be able to develop closer ties to federal funding agencies, and to create greater leverage with our instrument and consumable vendors.
  4. Lower travel and meeting expenses.

2017 MWACD Advisory Committee:
  • Nicole White, President, Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center
  • Sandra Splinter BonDurant, Ph.D, Treasurer, University of Wisconsin Biotechnology Center 
  • Lisa Wright, Vanderbilt University, Core Administrator, Office of Research
  • Christopher Gilpin, Ph.D, Life Science Microscopy Director,  Purdue University
  • Sarah Burris, Ph.D.. Research Program Coordinator, Loyola University
  • Cassandra Wong, Ph.D, University of Michigan 
  • Matt DeVries , Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine
  • David Morgan, Indiana University, Bloomington
Past members
  • Seth Crosby, Ph.D, MD, Sponsor Coordinator, Washington University School of Medicine
  • Susan Meyn, Vanderbilt University Medical Center
  • Philip Hockberger, Ph.D.,Northwestern University
  • Kevin Knudtson, Ph.D.University of Iowa
  • William Hendrickson, Ph.D., University of Chicago
  • Karen Staehling, Ph.D, President, Stowers Institute
  • David McCarter, Sponsor Coordinator, Monsanto Company